Current Wisconsin Marijuana Laws
In a time of ever-changing laws, you never know which ones will be different tomorrow! Although, marijuana is still illegal for recreational use in Wisconsin. Continue reading to learn about the penalties if you are charged with a marijuana crime.
Penalties For Marijuana Possession
Since marijuana is illegal for recreational use in Wisconsin, there are penalties if you are caught in possession, using, selling, delivering, or growing marijuana. If you are caught in possession of marijuana for the first time, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, a maximum of $1,000 fine, and face up to 6 months in jail. If you are caught again after your first offense, you are charged with a felony, must pay a maximum of $10,000 fine, and face 3.5 years of jail time.
Penalties For Sale or Delivery of Marijuana
This crime is grouped based on the amount of marijuana you are selling or distributing. For example, if you distribute 200g or less, you can face a felony charge, 3.5 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
Penalties For Growing Marijuana
The penalties for this crime are grouped based on the number of individual plants you grow. For example, if you develop using four plants or fewer, you can face a felony, up to 3.5 years in jail, and up to a $10,000 fine.
The penalties one can face for a marijuana charge are nothing to brush off. They can be life-changing. If you or a loved one is facing a marijuana charge, you need to speak with an experienced attorney as soon as possible. You do not want one mistake to change the rest of your life. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 414-310-6859.